Thursday Night Invasion

Last night, HappyDD came over to play some Warhammer: Invasion. We got in five games in a few hours. He was trying out his recently devised Empire/High Elf Preservation deck and I played three games with my Dark Elf Mill deck and two with my Chaos Sacrifice Escalation deck. Although I may have had a slight advantage, having more refined decks, we had some very close games and if I remember right, we both won at least two each.

The Chaos deck was interesting to play again because I haven’t thought about it in a while and couldn’t remember if it needed some work. It performed strongly and I’ll likely wait until new battle packs are purchased before I look to make changes. I know for certain that there are a couple of cards in the coming March of the Damned expansion that I will be adding to the deck immediately.

The Mill also performed well but I’m questioning some of the cards. The one that sticks out the most is Harpies. The deck has so many hand reducing cards that the opponent rarely has more than three cards let alone seven. In fact, HappyDD took to playing his cards or developing them regardless of their usefulness at present or future, just so they would serve some purpose instead of me discarding them. Harpies would work better in a deck that has the capability to move enemy units into the quest zone or bump up the opponents Quest phase draw in some other way. Unfortunately, the majority of those abilities are on Empire cards and you can’t do and Order/Destruction mix. Perhaps in the future there will be something available for destruction to make better use of Harpies but for now I think I’m going to look for a replacement.

I should have taken some photos to make this post more interesting but I didn’t think of it.

One Response to Thursday Night Invasion

  1. HappyDD says:

    I think you are being too generous giving me more than one win. That Preservation deck actually hinges on when Wilhelm gets out and then one needs to use him properly, which I don’t think I managed.

Leave a Reply

